Vogue Original de Paris.

by Dustin

Bonjour! How’s your French?

Here is a curiosity, and what seems to be a rarity in the world of pattern collecting, at least to someone in Australia (i.e., me!). I acquired this pattern on eBay about 2 years ago and, just tonight, while sorting and culling some of my pattern collection I came across this pattern again. A ‘Vogue Original de Paris’ by Pierre Cardin, complete with label.

This pattern was never used and it is still wrapped in what I assume to be the original cellophane. I’ve noticed on eBay that some Vogue patterns that were made in England from 1960’s were also in cellophane, so I’m guessing that at one point it was common in Europe to receive your pattern in protective cellophane.

As this pattern was printed in England, the pattern tissue is of the white variety which has one side (the right side) which is glossy and seems almost waxy. It is also the same type of pattern tissue that was used to print Vogue patterns in Australia. I find that this tissue is stronger and less prone to tearing compared to the American brown tissue.

An interesting difference from the English language version is that there is a diagram on the back side of the envelope which shows the shape and grain of the main pattern pieces (the collar interfacing and pocket bag are the only pieces not pictured).

The main step-by-step construction sheet is in French, and there is a supplementary instruction sheet with advice on size selection, pattern alterations, cutting fabric, transferring markings and basting which is in four languages, including French, German, Dutch, and English.

I also have a ‘Vogue Grand Couturier’ pattern by Valentino and it is almost identical in its printing layout and language formatting. It is also printed in England. The Grand Couturier series had its own ‘Vogue Grand Couturier’ label.

I remember looking through fashion books back when I was in High School and being fascinated by the far-out ‘space age’ designs of Pierre Cardin, and by the geometric shapes and motifs of his clothes. I had no idea at the time that there were sewing patterns made available of the same designs!

